College Life, Daily life, Faith and Christianity

College year 1

“To achieve greatness, start where you are, use what you have, do what you can”

Well…my freshman year of college has come to an end! On May 4th I moved out of my dorm in eagle hall, leaving behind the room that has been a home away from home for the past year. I was honestly so scared to move to FGCU.. I was afraid that I wasn’t going to have good roommates, that it would be hard to make new friends so far away from home, and that keeping my faith in God would be hard.
IMG_0702

But I soon realized that those fears weren’t very realistic. When I met my roommates for the first time, I knew I was going to be fine. I have had so many great moments with my roommates, whether it was just all getting lunch together, Hannah naming our fridge and freezer, or complaining about classes, we were usually always laughing. I know that I will be able to look back at my freshman year and remember all the great times that living in that dorm brought me. I also declared my major as elementary education, and I am so thrilled to be able to teach children, and have an impact on their lives down the road.

IMG_0720
Roomies

It also wasn’t as hard to make friends as I had anticipated. I became friends with my roommates pretty quickly (but I am a social butterfly so I was not surprised). Very soon into the year my roommate Hannah had told me about a church down the street from our school called Summit, and she told me that she had been going, and that she joined a small group and loved it. So I started going to church there to see if I liked it, and I ended up loving it. It was a wonderful environment to be a part of. So that night my roommate helped me join a small group.. I remember just typing in my name and phone number on the Ignite app, and a few hours later I got a text from a girl named Katie who invited me to join her small group. I was nervous and unsure, but I said yes, and went that following week. I was so happy to have found this group of girls. All the girls were super nice, and I could tell they all had a passion for growing their relationship with God. I joined this small group during a really hard time in my life..in October. October is the month of my dads anniversary, and I guess I wasn’t really thinking about it, but being in the small group helped because I felt closer to God even though I did not know any of the girls very well yet. It was soon after that I started to become friends with the girls in my small group.

IMG_0538
Small group

One of my favorite memories from my freshman year is the night that Olivia came to my room after I had texted the small group, group chat a prayer request that I had. I barely knew Olivia at the time since we had barely even talked before she came to my room. I remember opening up to her that night, and sharing a lot about my past struggles..I don’t know what made me trust her so much that night but all I can say is that God was a big part of it. I am still so convinced that He sent her to my room to be the friend that I needed. We shared a lot of laughs that night once Olivia started comparing my life to a sinking ship.. I won’t ever forget when she made up that analogy. It was really late at night and we were both getting tired. I still laugh every time I think about it. After that night, she became one of my best friends, and a person I could lean on no matter what. Throughout the rest of the school year, we spent a lot of time together, whether we were at ignite, hanging out in the room, or eating some dry chicken and overcooked veggies in sovi dining. It has been weird not being able to see her the past few days, but I can’t wait to see her during the summer!

IMG_0700

 

My faith in God has grown tremendously this year being in college. First semester I had a hard time trusting God, but I soon realized how much I was going to need Him to help me through. My faith was tested a lot this year because of many different things. But the main thing was not having my dad here. A lot of times I would want to call him and tell him the good or bad things that were happening to me at school, and it made me sad that I could not do it. I still get confused, and heavy-hearted when it comes to not being able to see him anymore. I have grown a lot in many different aspects and I know that if he was here he would be smiling. I am really thankful for the people who have helped me grow closer to God this year.

I can’t believe my freshman year of college is over, but I am excited to relax this summer!

 

IMG_0693
For anyone else still taking finals!

Have a great rest of the weekend,

-Taylor Kate

Leave a Reply

